## LANGHAM COURT THEATRE SOCIETY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Draft Minutes

Sunday, November 3, 2024 2:00 PM at Langham Court Theatre

Present – Caroline Herbert (President), Andrew Gabriel (VP), Dick Newson (Treasurer), Wayne Yercha (Past President), Marilyn Kuss (Secretary), Don Keith (Member at Large), Jacqollyne Keath (Member at Large and Co-Production Chair), Amanda Heffelfinger (Member at Large), Toshik Bukowiecki (Co-Production Chair)

Number of members present: 72 (2 non-voting) Chair: Don Peterson Minutes recorded by: Marilyn Kuss

1. Call to Order: 2:01

2. Territorial Acknowledgment: Langham Court Theatre resides on the territories of the lək<sup>w</sup>əŋən speaking peoples, also known as the Esquimalt and Songhees First Nation. We live and create on this land with humility and gratitude.

- 3. Introduction of Chairperson (Don Peterson)
- 4. Approval of Agenda of Sunday, November 3, 2024

Amendment: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society move the recommendations for life membership to occur directly after the confirmation of treasurer.

Moved by Wayne Yercha, seconded by Diana Keating

CARRIED

Motion: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society approve the Agenda as amended.

Motion to adopt agenda moved by Andrea Pite, seconded by Claire White CARRIED

5. Confirmation of Dick Newson as Treasurer

Be it resolved that Langham Court Theatre Society confirm the Board of Directors appointment of Dick Newson as Treasurer of the Society for a term ending at the 2025 AGM, as per bylaw 6.1 (3).

Moved by Bill Williamson, second by Caroline Herbert

CARRIED

5.A. Recommendations for Life Membership Lorene Cammiade nomination confirmed by membership \* Heather-Elayne Day nomination confirmed by membership \* Charley Encell nomination confirmed by membership Andrea Pite nomination confirmed by membership \* Alf Small nomination confirmed by membership 6. Approval of Minutes of 2023 AGM (November 27, 2023). Moved by Andrea Pite, seconded by Beverly van Druten-Blais CARRIED 7. Reports Treasurer's Report, Dick Newson Motion: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society approve the treasurer's report. Moved by Toshik Bukowiecki, seconded Valerie Sullivan CARRIED Motion: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society revisit the accessibility report. Moved by Andrea Gregg, seconded Diana Keating DEFEATED President's Report, Caroline Herbert Motion: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society approve the President's Report. Moved by Heather Day, seconded by Bill Williamson CARRIED **Committee Reports** Props report - up-dated report in posted AGM package. Gardening report - up-dated report in posted AGM package. Motion: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society form a committee with some process of mediation to come to a solution to sharing the theatre. Moved by Janine Longy, seconded by Bruce Gillespie CARRIED Amendment: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society form a committee with members including production heads with some process of mediation to come to a solution to sharing the theatre.

Moved by Andrea Gregg, seconded by Carol-Anne Moore

DEFEATED

Motion: Be it resolved that the Board of Directors of Langham Court Theatre Society end discussion.

Moved by Ian Simms, seconded by Bill Williamson

CARRIED

9. Nominations and Election of Board Members

President Caroline Herbert, nominated by Dick Newson, seconded by Alan Penty ACCLAIMED

Vice President Gloria Di Ioia, nominated by Toshik Bukowiecki, seconded by Jacqollyne Keath ACCLAIMED

Member at Large (2 year term) Jacqollyne Keath, nominated by Merry Hallsor, seconded by Kathy Macovichuk ELECTED

Member at Large (2 year term) John Varszegi, nominated by Caroline Herbert, seconded by Toshik Bukowiecki ELECTED

Production Chair(s) Heather-Elayne Day and Jim Leard, nominated by Toshik Bukowiecki, seconded by Holly McGimpsey ACCLAIMED

10. Motion to destroy the ballots.Moved by Jacqollyne Keath, seconded by Claire White

CARRIED

11. President thanked Alan Penty, Andrew Gabriel and Wayne Yercha for their time on the Board.

12. Adjournment - Meeting declared adjourned.